My wedding was all about creating beautiful things myself and that did not stop when it came to gifts.  I’d always seen “bridesmaid” shirts but never liked the price tags.  So I decided to make them myself.  Well… I did not make the actual tank-top but I created the final product myself 🙂

Supplies Needed:

  • Tank-tops – I decided to buy two packs of men’s tank tops in size small and medium.
  • Fabric dye – I used Dylon Permanent Fabric Dye in Deep Pink
  • Iron on rhinestone beads – I ordered them from Jubliee Rhinestones and Iron On Transfers

How To:

First: Wash your tank top and dry them.  Dying fabric that has already been washed will really help the dying process and drying them will help them pre shrink before you give them away.

Second: Follow the instructions on your fabric dye to prepare your dye water.  But had three bowls of water with dye in them.  One bowl was warm water (no dye).  Another bowl had the suggested amount of dye and the third bowl had the rest of the dye.  Because I wanted an ombre look I need a variety of color variations.

Third:  I soaked a tank in the straight water for a few minutes.  Then straightened out the tank and dunked in the lighter pink water all the way to the top layer I wanted on the tank but only for a couple seconds.  Then I slowly pulled the tank out to the point where I wanted the first layer to stop and the second (darker) layer to begin.  I left in there for about 15 seconds.  Then I pulled it out of the water and let the excess water drip off for about 45 seconds and then dunked it to the next layer for about 45 seconds and pulled out to let all the water drip out.  Then I moved to the darker water and did layers between 60 – 90 seconds depending on how dark I wanted the layer.

Fourth: I hung up the tanks outside to dry

Firth: Wash them!  Washing them gave a uniform look and the top part of the tank turned a very light shade of pink and set the color so it wouldn’t bleed going forwards.

Sixth: Iron on the rhinestone words and voilà !

 

