This table revamp is my favorite refurb project so far! Very slowly my husband and I have been redoing our Family Room.  After redoing the TV table and the two shelving units one side of the room we were ready to tackle the other side.  We have had two black Ikea coffee tables that we kept switching out because they just did not feel quite right.  Between hardwood floors and two Siberian Huskies, our house gets very dusty! So I made the executive decision to veto my husbands opinion and change the coffee table from black to white and we came up with a game plan.

Of the two coffee tables, we liked the one with the two drawers but hated the glass top because it was just so dusty and dirty looking all of the time.  We decided to replace the glass top with a foam and fabric ottoman top and paint the base white.  So we set out on a new refurb journey!

Starting out on the Free section of Craigslist, I found a free piece of foam.  It was perfect!  The foam was from a baby crib and it still had the plastic on it when I picked it up.  The foam is about 4-5 inches thick so it gave some serious cushion and height to the coffee table.  My husband got a piece of thin wood so that we could staple the fabric to something and cut the foam to the size of the board (with a little help from the dogs 🙂

Image

Once the foam was cut, we bought some batting from Joanns and decided on a fabric we liked.  Then using a staple gun, we stapled the batting and then the fabric down tight.

Image

Fits like a glove 🙂  Moving on… we started painting.  Changing from black to white required 3-4 coats of paint and then another 3 coats of sealer.

Image

During the painting process, I accidentally knocked the table off the stands and broke the bottom layer so badly that we thought we were going to have to scrap the whole project.  Thanks to my quick thinking, I realized we could get really short table legs from Lowes, and that saved the project!

Image

Image

A few coats of paint and sealer later… we had a beautiful new ottoman table!!

Image

Image

